Posts by w@lter

So I purchased an upgrade from 3.0 to 5.2

Followed all steps in this thread : WoltLab Suite 5.2 Released

Result :

Please help. It's urgent, my forum is down at the moment

The reason there is a "reset password" option available is so that the administrator does not have to this. Telling me that I can do this via the ACP does not solve the problem of the user having the problems at logging in.

In every other forumsoftware I've used so far, I always had the possibility to configure this myself, only WoltLab does not offer this possibility.

Why not? Members having to wait for 24hrs before they can do a second request is not the way I want to run my forum. I think as an administrator, I should be able to define these settings.

Thank you for your reply. I have successfully been able to test it that way.

What I mean with managing the settings is that for instance I want to change this 24hrs delay before a user can request a new password (let's say I want to change it to one hour).

Just tried another request for another password, nothing received via e-mail. Is there anywhere some decent documentation available on how and where to setup my e-mail for WCF so that

a. It works

b. I can test it

c. I can manage the settings?

Thank you.

Hi,

After several users reporting that the "lost password" e-mail didn't work, I have been looking into the problem. I've found the error (wrong mailserver), but I'm faced with another problem : I can only request one new password every 24hrs, which makes it difficult to test whether the new settings are correct or not.

How can I change this setting so that I (or a member) does not have to wait 24hrs before being able to request another password?

Unfortunately robots.txt only works with legit searchbots and is a convention, not a rule. I want to block the bad searchbots and spiders but am unable to do this. Even blocking their IP is apparently useless.