How do I create a Moderator forum?

  • Before this hidden forum feature arrives, I want to do everything that I can to protect my staff members, so I have an additional question:


    Is it possible to hide the moderator status of my staff members in various boxes/labels etc so as it does not identify them as moderators to other forum members? To be clear, they are moderators with full mod permissions, I just don't want anyone knowing that.


    Many thanks!

    Jupiter

    I am a Newbie Admin. Please be gentle, I don't understand technical things.
    (Please can we have a full manual for this software)

  • Jupiter as you've already seen, it's not possible the way you want to have it, without logging out manually.

    I'm currently traveling and not available for individual jobs.

  • I think I am going to be a little bit more careful about getting plugins here in the future....

    I am a Newbie Admin. Please be gentle, I don't understand technical things.
    (Please can we have a full manual for this software)

  • Christopher Walz


    Let me rephrase that a little...


    It's a great plugin Christopher, but clearly you have designed it for such a use that I am talking about in this thread.


    There is no point having a link to another account, if you then need to logout and manually go back to that account afterwards.


    Clearly, you're clever at this stuff and this is a oversight. I happy to throw some euros your way to get this plugin the best it can be, but at the moment it is of no use to me currently.

    I am a Newbie Admin. Please be gentle, I don't understand technical things.
    (Please can we have a full manual for this software)

  • There is no point having a link to another account, if you then need to logout and manually go back to that account afterwards.

    The plugin works as intended, to switch back and forth between accounts.


    How do you think it should work? How do you want to login back and forth without having user 2 login to your user 1 ?

    (User 3 being the central person)


    Not technically wise but how do you think it should work theoretically?

    Is it possible to hide the moderator status of my staff members in various boxes/labels etc so as it does not identify them as moderators to other forum members? To be clear, they are moderators with full mod permissions, I just don't want anyone knowing that.

    You simply deactive the team page for example, and do know show the team members online box.

    You can lower the priority:



    For moderators lower it, then the user rank will be shown instead of the moderator status.

  • The plugin works as intended, to switch back and forth between accounts.


    How do you think it should work? How do you want to login back and forth without having user 2 login to your user 1 ?

    (User 3 being the central person)


    Not technically wise but how do you think it should work theoretically?

    But as you said in a earlier post, you cannot switch back from the central account, you have to log off, otherwise you encounter the problem I described which is other staff getting into each other's accounts.


    There should be a option that allows everyone to switch into the central account, but a option to prevent them switching into each other's accounts when they need to switch back into their own account. I am sure it is possible technically, but how, I don't know. But surely the whole point of the this plugin is for a forum, such as the one I am trying to set up?

    You simply deactive the team page for example, and do know show the team members online box.

    That hadn't even occurred to me. Many thanks.:thumbup:

    You can lower the priority:

    For moderators lower it, then the user rank will be shown instead of the moderator status.

    I don't understand these bits at all.


    Where do I find the priority function?


    And your second bit, I don't understand either, (not your English, that's great!) I just don't understand how this works.


    I'll search on my site for the term "priority" and I'll come back to you, possibly, if I need help.


    Thanks for all your replies here Throwholics.:)

    I am a Newbie Admin. Please be gentle, I don't understand technical things.
    (Please can we have a full manual for this software)

  • I agree with this wholeheartedly:

    "There is no point having a link to another account, if you then need to logout and manually go back to that account afterwards."

    [Such a required action would really "bug" me as a Member of your Forum.]


    And this I also go along with - as I stated in a recent Post of mine regarding the setting up of a manual or help section - for the many ins and outs of

    Forum Software Navigation and Understanding:

    "I happy to throw some euros your way to get this plugin the best it can be ..."

  • There should be a option that allows everyone to switch into the central account, but a option to prevent them switching into each other's accounts when they need to switch back into their own account. I am sure it is possible technically, but how, I don't know. But surely the whole point of the this plugin is for a forum, such as the one I am trying to set up?

    To be honest, if there is an option to do that I would have use for it as well ;)

    But i remeber asking that couple of years ago when he started with that plugin in 2014 that he said its not possible.

    Maybe I am wrong (actually hope) and Chris can edit the plugin with your suggestion ;)


    That hadn't even occurred to me. Many thanks.

    I don't understand these bits at all.


    Where do I find the priority function?

    Go to the ACP and go to users, then user groups.


    There you can predefine the priority of the groups.


    For example:


    User A is in as all users in registered users

    User A is also in group: Moderator


    User A would have 1000 points or whatever. Based on the points the system would give him a rank (for registered users)

    But by default the Group Moderator has a higher priority, therefore the Rank based on the points he achieved for registered users will not be shown.

    Hence, the rank "moderator" will be shown.


    Lower the priority of the Moderator group to 0, then this rank will not be shown anymore, and the user will receive the entitled rank based on his points.

  • To be honest, if there is an option to do that I would have use for it as well

    But i remeber asking that couple of years ago when he started with that plugin in 2014 that he said its not possible.

    Maybe I am wrong (actually hope) and Chris can edit the plugin with your suggestion

    I'm willing to throw "some" euros his way, if its possible, but I can't fund it entirely out of my own pocket if he needs to do major work on it.


    If he thinks it may be possible, then it would be up to him to come back to us with a offer.


    Thank you for all that. I shall go and explore now as per your guidance.:thumbup::thumbup:


    This priority system is completely new on me. Although, as I am a new admin, everything is new to me.:)

    I am a Newbie Admin. Please be gentle, I don't understand technical things.
    (Please can we have a full manual for this software)

  • I'm willing to throw "some" euros his way, if its possible, but I can't fund it entirely out of my own pocket if he needs to do major work on it.


    If he thinks it may be possible, then it would be up to him to come back to us with a offer.

    Let's see and wait until he replies ;)

    maybe it is a "tiny" change in the system.


    This priority system is completely new on me. Although, as I am a new admin, everything is new to me.

    let me know if you have found it.